4 Beliefs I Wish My College Students Knew About Themselves

journalism_header

Recently, I’ve had conversations with several students who are nearing graduation. They all are feeling uncertain about “life after college” and struggling with self-doubt and fear. I’ve given pep talks to each of them, and here’s what I want them — and others like them— to know. 

  1. You are unique. According to the 2015 U.S. Census, only one in three adults held a bachelor’s degree or higher. By already being an almost college graduate, you are special. Don’t minimize what you bring to the table. Employers want you and your new ideas and perspectives. Remember that.
  2. You are creative. In my field of study, mass communication, creativity counts. And by your writing, photography, design, you have proven that you are creative. Don’t fall into the fallacy of comparing yourself to others. One of my favorite quotes is: “Comparison is the thief of happiness.” Believe in your own work. Have the attitude that you will continue to stretch your own creativity too.
  3. You are persistent. To earn a college degree, you have to have your smarts about you, but you also have to persevere. You have proven that you can withstand trial, disappointment, stress and, of course, those sleepless nights. Employers are looking for people just like you!
  4. You are mindful. Take one day at a time. If there’s one lesson I could go back and tell my 22-year-old self when I graduated from college, it would be to trust the journey. Don’t only think about the destination. Be mindful about who you are trying to be each and every day. If yesterday was a bad day or a ho-hum day, chalk it up to life and keep learning. One day at a time. One step at a time.

So that’s 4 Thoughts About Living a Fuller Life. Remember who you were when you entered your first college class, and compare that to who you are today. You’ve grown. You’ve matured. You’ve risen. Keep doing that!

Author: Lora Hutson

Curious. Teacher. Creator. Seeker. I strive to live a full life. I want to act justly, love mercy and walk humbly. When my eyes open each morning, I seek gratitude and try to think positively. And I want to help others do the same.

Leave a Reply

